Android IDE (AIDE) Support Forum

What's up with AIDE?

Hi folks, my first post here. I have been using AIDE for about 6 months now quite a bit. I’m really impressed by what it can do compared to my expectations going in. I’m curious though what is up with AIDE development in general, and specifically what’s up with AIDE just getting Android Oreo 8.1 support in August while Android 10 just dropped last week? Of course, i don’t expect support to be current with Studio, but it seems like Android Pie in AIDE should be there, or close on the horizon by now. Not complaining, just curious.

Also, AIDE’s website isn’t being maintained. It took me quite a while just to find this forum. It makes me wonder if AIDE’s devs have lost interest in the project. I hope not, because I saw its potential enough that I bought it the first day I used it and am still surprised months later at its capabilities. I use it with my phone plugged into a large monitor and external keyboard/mouse, small font and zoomed way out so it’s like using a desktop IDE. It’s faster than Studio, and it just makes sense to me to develop on the platform the app is intended for.

Just curious if anyone knows why the version support lag, if we users can do anything about it, and what you think about AIDE’s current status/future?

2 Likes

Just see my post that allows you to download android.jar and get API28 files

Who are you?
How do we know you’re legit?

2 Likes

Okay, i see you think im a liar, you can see my user page, here, the page shows all my info including my name

It’s not about lying.
We want to do it ourselves.
People want to see the whole process.
I think social media is ruining people’s contextual sense.